Monday, July 6, 2015

Please see our open letter to the Chancellor, from 1.1m Campaign Supporters, the RAC, FTA, RHA, APN and Microlise endorsed by 33 MPs listed below, regarding his Fuel Duty plans.

"FairFuelUK and the undersigned MPs from all Parties warn George Osborne that an inflation based fuel duty rise in the coming Emergency Budget or in future years will lower GDP, cost the UK £8 billion in reduced economic activity, raise inflation and sabotage one of the slowest economic recoveries this country has ever seen. Even The Treasury has said that the Government’s freeze on duty since 2011 has improved GDP by 0.5% and that ‘low fuel costs are good for the economy’. The UK already has the highest duty regimes in the EU, 98% of FairFuelUK’s 1.1 million supporters believe this is too high and research by CEBR confirm that fuel duty is already at an unsustainable level. To ignore 37 million drivers, deny the fact we are reliant on a road economy and side-step haversacks of prestigious academic fiscal research will seem arrogant and reckless. Before the election this Government trumpeted its policy of keeping fuel costs low to stimulate growth and jobs. A volte-face now will appear duplicitous. We urge the Chancellor to be fearless and continue to protect the UK’s fragile road-based economy by at least freezing fuel duty in the lifetime of this Parliament. However he must consider a real cut in this levy, the economist’s preferred choice and proven to spawn prolonged growth tax revenue for the Exchequer.”



  • Quentin Willson (TVBroadcaster, Journalist and FairFuelUK Campaigner)
  • Howard Cox (Founder of the FairFuelUK Campaign)
  • Richard Burnett CEO RHA.FairFuelUK Campaign backer
  • David Wells CEO FTA.FairFuelUK Campaign backer
  • David Bizley Chief EngineerRAC.FairFuelUK Campaign backer
  • Paul Sanders Assoc Pallet Networks.FairFuelUK Campaign backer
  • Bob Harbey MD MicroliseLtd. FairFuelUK Campaign backer

Here is a list of MPs from all Parties supporting FairFuelUK’s call for Fuel Duty sense. They signed at the FairFuelUK Campaign’s Pre Budget Reception in Portcullis House, July 1st2015. That was attended by 70 MPs

  • Alan Brown (SNP)
  • Albert Owen (L)
  • Alistair Carmichael (LD)
  • Angus MacNeil (SNP)
  • Bob Blackman (C)
  • Caroline Nokes (C)
  • Calum Kerr (SNP)
  • Danny Kinahan (UUP)
  • Dennis Skinner (L)
  • Douglas Chapman (SNP)
  • Heather Wheeler (C)
  • Ian Paisley (DUP)
  • Jason McCartney (C)
  • Jim Cunningham (L)
  • Jim Shannon (DUP)
  • John McNally (SNP)
  • Julie Cooper (L)
  • Madeline Moon (L)
  • Margaret Ferrier (SNP)
  • Margaret Ritchie (SDLP)
  • Mark Williams (LD)
  • Mary Glindon (L)
  • Peter Aldous (C)
  • Rachael Maskell (L)
  • Richard Arkless (SNP)
  • Rob Flello (L) MP
  • Rosie Cooper (L)
  • Sharon Hodgson (L)
  • Stephen Met
  • Sir David Amess (C)
  • Sir Gerald Kaufman (L)
  • Sir Peter Bottomley (C)
  • Stuart Donaldson (SNP)
A full breakdown of the FairFuelUK Campaign messages sent to all MPs and actively supported by 146 MPs including those listed above can be downloaded at

Please donate to help the fight for lower fuel prices and a better deal for drivers

Share this Post:    

your name*

email address*

Add your own comments below this post. They are very welcome*
You may use these HTML tags:<p> <u> <i> <b> <strong> <del> <code> <hr> <em> <ul> <li> <ol> <span> <div>

verification code*