Monday, July 11, 2011

This is the group of MPs that have expressed their involvement at 9.00am tommorow  Tuesday 12th July, to push a car down Whitehall to Downing Street in order to show their support for the millions of UK motorists and businesses struggling with high petrol and diesel prices.

  • Peter Aldous MP (Con) Waveney
  • Steve Baker MP (Con) Wycombe
  • Andrew Bingham MP (Con) High Peak
  • Neil Carmichael MP (Con) Stroud
  • David Davies MP (Con) Monmouth
  • Nick De Bois MP (Con) Enfield North
  • Mark Durkan MP (SDLP) Foyle
  • Jonathan Edwards MP (PC) Carmarthen East  & Dinefwr
  • Robert Flello MP (Lab) Stoke on Trent South
  • Robert Halfon MP (Con) Harlow
  • Elfyn Llwyd MP (PC) Dwyfor Meironnydd
  • Alasdair McDonnell MP (SDLP) Belfast South
  • Caroline Nokes MP (Con) Romsey &   Southampton North
  • Yasmin Qureshi MP (Lab) Bolton South East
  • Linda Riordan MP (Lab) Halifax
  • Margaret Ritchie MP (SDLP) South Down
  • Angus Robertson MP (SNP) Moray
  • Laura Sandys MP (Con) South Thanet
  • Nick Smith MP (Lab) Blaenau Gwent
  • Rory Stewart MP (Con) Penrith & Border
  • Elizabeth Truss MP (Con) South West Norfolk
  • Hywel Williams MP (PC) Arfon
  • Mark Williams MP (LD) Ceredigeon
  • Sarah Wollaston MP (Con) Totnes
These MPs are members of the newly formed FairFuelUK All Party Working Group in the House of Commons which is fighting for lower pump prices. The formation of the group was inspired by Robert Halfon Member of Parliament for Harlow working in conjunction with the FairFuelUK campaign.
After the ‘car push' the Group will lead a delegation to the door of Number 10 and hand in a letter for the Prime Minister. The letter will set out the urgent need for the Government to pressure Oil companies to pass on reductions in the cost of Oil and for the Government to abandon its plan to increase fuel duty in January 2012. This January increase could add up to 4 p per litre.
The FairFuelUK campaign is supported by the RAC and the trade bodies that represent over 20,000 UK road freight companies, the Road Haulage Association (RHA) and Freight Transport Association (FTA) and has the support of over 170,000 members of the public.

1. The car push will start at 09.00am outside the Welsh Office, Whitehall Tuesday 12th July 2011

2. The MPs will deliver a letter to 10 Downing Street at 09.30am

3. List of members of the APPWG on FairFuelUK attached.

For more details, contact

  • Peter Carroll, Fair Fuel UK Campaign - Mob: 07866 800755
  • Robert Halfon MP 0207 219 7223
  • Paul Abbott (Researcher for Robert Halfon MP) 07725 196 583
  • Lynne Beaumont, Fair Fuel UK Campaign - Mob: 07885 940945
  • Howard Cox, Fair Fuel UK Campaign - Mob: 07515 421611

Please donate to help the fight for lower fuel prices and a better deal for drivers

Share this Post:    


[ posted by Rob Teasle, 11.07.11 12:08 ]

MP's? Exerting energy?

Better have an ambulance standing by! :-)


[ posted by darren clare, 11.07.11 19:06 ]

Disappointed my MP is not there..Julian Smith


your name*

email address*

Add your own comments below this post. They are very welcome*
You may use these HTML tags:<p> <u> <i> <b> <strong> <del> <code> <hr> <em> <ul> <li> <ol> <span> <div>

verification code*